Welcoming Iona

One great joy I experienced during my week’s stay on Iona was the ability to explore the three-mile long by one-mile wide island. Paths took us from Columba’s Bay on the south to the sandy shores on the north.

The paths would often take us through fields of sheep.  As I walked I’d often expect to see a sign saying, “No trespassing.”

However never did I see a “No Trespassing” sign. Instead I’d find gates to use and only one rule seemed to apply on Iona:  “All Dogs on Leads.”

One day I wondered off to the west of the island, heading toward the west shore.  I wandered through a sheep pasture on my way, thinking how farmers in the states would not allow a stranger to wander through their sheep pasture. 

As I approached another fence and gate, I noticed a sign, and thought, “I bet this gate has a ‘No Trespassing’ sign.”

As I drew near I realized the sign simply stated Iona’s one rule:  “All Dogs on Leads.”   And, next to the sign was a welcoming stile! 

What a wonderful way for this Celtic Island to reflect God’s welcoming of us! It also reminded me of another aspect of Celtic spirituality that I greatly appreciate, the embrace of hospitality and the belief that Christ is present in all who come along our road of life.

We are all welcome in the Kingdom of God and God’s one rule is to love!

How often do we put up “No trespassing” signs?  We have land that could have a trail going through it, but we fear folks will leave their trash behind, so we refuse to allow the trail. We see someone different than we in a store, and we take a different route to avoid them.  We have an opportunity to help someone in need, but we fear they may misuse our resources, so we turn our backs to them.

Oh, how we miss God’s desire when we, in fear, put up our “No Trespassing” signs.  We shut ourselves off from others who are created in God’s image and filled with God’s spirit, and in doing so, we miss the opportunity to build God’s Kingdom on earth.

God’s intention was for us to be a welcoming community, a community where all are respected, a community where the needs of all are met.

May God help us put up stiles that welcomes others instead of “No Trespassing” signs.

4 thoughts on “Welcoming Iona

  1. Okay if I share this with our pastor? We and 2 other churches in Manhattan are sharing 1 worship service a month though the summer and they are sharing a a reading of a poem that muses on the saying fences make good neighbors.

    Like

      1. The poem didn’t exactly, either. When I get back to my computer instead of just the phone I’ll send it to you

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.