Goodbye, Rita

My sister Rita was about 8 ½ years older than I; when I started school, Rita was in high school. That age difference limits my childhood memories of her.  However, the memories I do have reassure me of the love she had for me. 

That is, all the memories do, except for perhaps one.  The only memory I have of our one and only family vacation was Rita scaring me by telling me, “A bear is coming!  A bear is coming!”  I do believe I left that campground outhouse without using it; instead I quickly went back to our camper.

Rita had her ornery streaks, but was overall a caring, compassionate sister.

 Having a September birthday caused me to be quite young as I started school, and I was socially not ready.  I remember being overwhelmed during one of the first noon hours when all the elementary students were in the small gym playing.  I was huddled on the side seeking safety.  And, who should come along, no one but my high school sister and several of her friends.  What a relief it was for me to have my sister come and talk to me when I stood there all alone!  I felt very special and important, having these older kids come and talk to me.

It seemed to me that shortly after that Rita was off to college.  I remember one time I had the privilege of going with Mom to take her to Plainview, TX for college. 

When it was my time to go to college, Rita was there for me.  She wasn’t physically at my college until my graduation when she and her husband Ronnie paid for a celebratory meal for the entire family, but she made regular calls and was my primary family supporter during my college and my early marriage and family days.  She and Ronnie invited us to join them on a few vacations—that more than made up for scaring me as a child on our vacation.  She and Ronnie also made many trips to my house when loved ones passed away and for special celebrations—once it was twice in one week.

So, I wanted to be there for her as her time was drawing near.  Unfortunately, she passed about 10 minutes before I arrived, after driving 8 hours hoping to be there in time.  When I arrived, I reached and hugged her body, repeating her name as I cried.  In less than a minute, these words came to my mind, “It’s OK, it’s only my worn out body that is gone; my spirit lives on.”  I knew immediately that Rita was in a better place and that she knew I loved and appreciated her. 

The experience reminds me of Romans 8:11, “The Spirit of God, who raised Jesus from the dead, lives in you. And just as God raised Christ Jesus from the dead, he will give life to your mortal bodies by this same Spirit living within you.

May we all allow that Spirit in us to not only give our mortal bodies new life, but also show compassion and love to others as Rita did.

One thought on “Goodbye, Rita

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.