Falling off the Cliff

Suddenly, the cliff was there.  It appeared without warning and loomed menacingly on the horizon.  After we saw it, we did all we could to avoid it.  We walked carefully, senses on heightened alert, heads up, and eyes open.

We were aware of the cliff, but we fell off anyway.  In spite of our best efforts, the tentacles of injustice pushed us over the edge into the dark precipice below.

The anguish of falling off was indescribable.  I was sure my life had been sucked out of me; sleepless nights followed sleepless nights. Tears flowed like raging streams. Covid-19 isolated people, but the tentacles of injustice was more isolating for me. 

Our family experienced forced separation and chosen separation.  Folks I thought were friends allowed fear and prejudice to cloud their vision. True friends did not know how to help. I felt so alone in my agony. My pleas to God seemed to fall on apathetic ears.

The path since the fall remains scary, rough, and unclear.  Family remains separated. Sleep is still difficult at times, tears still come, I still feel lonely, and friends are still confused about how to help. 

The path is scary, rough, and unclear, but I’ve discovered that hope, beauty, and joy can be found. In my distress I called to the Lord, and he answered me. From deep in the realm of the dead I called for help, and the Lord listened to my cry. (Jonah 2:2) I’ve realized again that God does not have apathetic ears; I’ve been given the strength, wisdom, and hope to continue on my path and feel alive again. The Lord holds my hand, and helps me manage my fear. (Isaiah 41:13) 

I’ve learned to do all I can to connect to family, seek out supportive friends, and look for the beauty and joy along the path.  God has told me to turn my eyes from worthless things.  (Pslam 119:37)  I force myself to look beyond the rocks to see the beauty.  I can now see more than just the scary, rough, and unclear path.  I can now see a way forward; I can see a way, not out of the precipice, but through it.  God will take me through it, showing me grandeur along the way!

I know that family remains family. True friends remain true. I have also learned that I am not alone. So many other families have been pushed off the cliff of injustice.  I offer support to as many of those as I can; in return, I have been given support from people I would have never met had I not been pushed off the cliff.           

Have you fallen off a cliff?  God is still there.  God will walk through your dark precipice with you.

A directive from scripture that I have appreciated throughout the years has greater significance for me.  “Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.” (Romans 12:12)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.