My Road

I trudge down the wet road,

Water gushes down the ditch beside me.

The northwest wind whips my hood,

Chilling my arms.

The four layers of protection aren’t enough.

I cry out to God.

Where are you?

Where is the strong fortress?

Where is my defense?

Have mercy!

I force myself to continue on,

Down the path that’s been put before me.

I eventually reach the shelterbelt,

The trees break the wind.

It is calm.

Warmth returns to my arms.

The four layers of protection are enough.

But,

The storm inside ravages on,

Where is the shelterbelt for injustice?

Where is the calm for my indignation?

Will warmth ever return to my heart?

Is God’s protection for me?

One thought on “My Road

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.